6. Retrenchment

Even with the terribly stupid choice that was made, I stood by it.

A part of me was convinced there would be a turnaround. I thought that by remaining steadfast, despite the abuse, everything would turn out fine in the end. Days turned into weeks, into months and into a year.

Bruised and battered, clinging on for dear life on the ropes at the side of the ring of this merger. The Charlotte part of me kept berating me for the epic stupidity but the Lydia part kept coaxing me that the turnaround was just around the corner, it’ll get better! It will! You just need to put in more effort.

The hostile takeover would not be hostile forever, right?

Right.

In one fell swoop, everything I was mindlessly fighting to hold onto slipped from my grasp. Just when I thought things were getting better..

..

I was retrenched. Cut down and off from the Wickham merger.

“But it was a partnership! This merger was gonna be incredible! You said so yourself, you said I was the one, we were the ones who were gonna rule the world!”

Why was this happening? Why was I so unceremoniously let go?

Then it dawned on me.

A few days shy of d-day, I felt it. I didn’t want to admit it, but I felt it.

As the Sam Smith song goes, ‘I know I’m not the only one.’

Leave a Reply

